News for the Geoscience Community

get involved | member initiatives | awards & announcements

NERF IRC

Demystifying the NERC IRF

Jun 27, 2022

I Are you considering applying for the 2022/23 NERC Independent Research Fellowship (IRF) round? Unsure of what to include in your application? Want to learn more from those who work on and have experience of the fellowship? *****PLEASE NOTE: This event is Earth Science Women’s Network (ESWN) led, with speakers from NERC***** Join us on…

Read More

Careers Outside Academia

Jun 9, 2022

Are you applying or interviewing for a role outside academia soon? Or thinking about applying for roles outside academia? The Earth Science Women’s Network is hosting a webinar on June 22nd 2022 at 4pm UTC! We will be joined by: Keiko Toma (Head of Analytics, NHS England, UK) Ruth Winden (Careers and Research Consultant, University of…

Read More
Salary Negotiation

Salary Negotiation

May 19, 2022

Join us for an event all about salary negotiation on July 7th at 1500 UTC! 08:00-09:30 Pacific Time | 11:00-12:30 Eastern Time | 15:00-16:30 UTC | 1700-1830 Central European Time Have you ever wondered how to navigate salary negotiation or speaker honoraria conversations? Would you like to find out more about how to get paid…

Read More
Predatory Journals

Predatory Journals

May 3, 2022

Predatory Journals: What You Need To Know May 24th, 1600 UTC What are Predatory Journals? How can they negatively impact you and your academic career? At this event, we aim to give you tips to help you to identify these journals to ensure you don’t publish your work in them.  This event is in collaboration…

Read More

ESWN Oral History Project

Apr 28, 2022

To celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the Earth Science Women’s Network in 2022, we are documenting the development of ESWN through an Oral History Project. Join our host, Dr. Mona Behl, as we learn more about ESWN through it’s founders and leadership. Additional videos will be added throughout our 20th Anniversary celebration during March 2022.…

Read More

ESWN Raffle Winners

Apr 19, 2022

Swag alert!! For our 20th anniversary, we held a raffle for all ESWN members + raffle donors to win $25 worth of ESWN merch to show off their support. We drew six names to kick off this initiative. Congratulations to our inaugural ESWN Swag Winners: Carolyn Wilson, Maribeth Kniffin, Brooke Osborn, Chloe Shaw, Ajisafe Elizabeth,…

Read More
Ask Me Anything Imposter Syndrom

Ask-Me-Anything Imposter Syndrome

Apr 7, 2022

Please join us on Thursday, 14 April 2022 (9pm UTC; 2pm PST) for our second Ask-Me-Anything event, this time on Imposter Syndrome. Please Register here: Click HERE This event features panelists Rianon Wallace-Demby and Dr. Semarhy Quinones.

Read More
ESWN Event

ESWN 20th Anniversary Celebration – March 28 Event

Mar 21, 2022

ESWN 20th Anniversary Celebration … featuring Erika Marin-Spiotta and ADVANCEGeo Location: Online on  Zoom Time: March 28th at 2000 UTC (4pm ET/3pm CT/2pm MT/1pm PT) 2022 will commemorate the 20th anniversary of the Earth Science Women’s Network. To celebrate this milestone, we are hosting a series of activities in March 2022. This event will feature…

Read More

ESWN 20th Anniversary

Mar 3, 2022

The Earth Science Women’s Network is thrilled to be celebrating our 20th Anniversary!! ESWN started 20 years ago as a informal group of women in the earth sciences and has grown and transformed over the years into an organization that today impacts thousands of scientists every year with online discussion groups, in person events, professional…

Read More